I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 123

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

L. F. Kasperbauer

Edward J.B. Calvo

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

Mark Forbes

R. Klitzkie

L. A. Leon Guerrero

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios

R. J. Respicio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating Guam Chinese Association on its Second (2nd) Anniversary and commending the 2005 Guam Chinese Association for its outstanding accomplishments, and congratulating the 2006 Guam Chinese Association for its many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association was established on August 4,
- 4 2004 to foster camaraderie and unity amongst its members and the wider

1 community, as well as undertaking laudable activities to assist the people of

2 Guam; and

WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association membership consists of over eighty (80) individuals who are a proud part of our island's Chinese society and who have dedicated themselves to giving back to our island community and improving its quality of life while striving to achieve much more in years to come; and

WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association 'Chinese New Year Committee', consisting of Mr. Cong Lin Wu, President; Mr. Richard Bai, Vice President; Mr. James Qu, Vice President; Mrs. Ellen Wikinson, President Assistant; Mr. James Fang, Secretary; and Mr. Guo Lin Hua, Treasurer; organized the 2006 Chinese New Year celebration; and

WHEREAS, in 2005, the Guam Chinese Association provided immediate and sustained humanitarian service for typhoon disaster victims, sponsored successful fundraisers for many admirable causes, contributed over three thousand (\$3,000) dollars to the American Red Cross for the victims of the tsunami and Hurricane Katrina and provided funds to the Guam Police Department Tumon Precinct for the purchase of patrol motorcycles; and

WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association, under its 2006 President, Mr. Cong Lin Wu, continues to help our community to expand into other areas, such as the Chinese School of Guam, and to further aid the American Red Cross; and

WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association will celebrate its Second (2nd)
Anniversary on February 5, 2006 at the Guam Palace Hotel with the induction

- 1 of its 2006 officers; Mr. Cong Lin Wu, President; Mr. Richard Bai, Vice
- 2 President; Mr. James Qu, Vice President; Mrs. Ellen Wikinson, President
- 3 Assistant; Mr. James Fang, Secretary; Mr. Guo Lin Hua, Treasurer; Mr. Li Bo
- 4 Dong, Director; Mr. Charles Len, Director; Mr. Zhi Gang Li, Director; Mr.
- 5 Xiang Dong Liu, Director; Mr. Shi Qun Wang, Director; Mr. Li Hua Wu,
- 6 Director; Mr. Xing Bo Yu, Director; Mr. Zhi Zhong Zheng, Director; Mr. Gui
- 7 Jiang Zheng, Director; and Mr. Er Hong Zhou, Director; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Guam Chinese Association of Guam recognizes the
- 9 appointments of Mr. Thomas Yang, former President of the Guam Chinese
- 10 Association; Mr. Peter B. Wang, former President of the Chinese Chamber
- 11 Commerce of Guam; Mr. Yu Lin Chen, former President of the Chinese
- 12 Contractor Association; Mr. Gordon T. Chu, Vice Chairman of Guam Olympic
- 13 Committee; Mr. Sheying Chen, Dean & Professor of the University of Guam;
- 14 Mr. Jin Fu Tao, former Director of the Chinese Contractor; to serve as
- 15 Honorable Advisors to Guam Chinese Association; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Ocho Na
- 17 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 18 people of Guam, congratulates the Guam Chinese Association and commends
- 19 the hard work and commitment of its leadership and its members for their
- valuable contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further
- 21 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 22 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 23 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Cong Lin
- 24 Wu, 2006 President, Guam Chinese Association; to the Honorable Jianhua

- 1 Zhong, General Consul of People's Republic of China in Los Angeles; to Mr.
- 2 Thomas Yang, 2005 President, Guam Chinese Association; and to the
- 3 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 2ND DAY OF FEBRUARY 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature